Seats of Shakti (Shakti-peeth)


1. Complete and half Shakti-peeth (Seats of Shakti) and their functions

1A. Complete Shakti-peeth

        The Shakti manifests in three forms in the universe, namely Iccha-shakti (Will), Kriya-shakti (Action) and Dnyan-shakti (Knowledge).

        The ‘Complete Shakti-peeth’ functions either on Iccha, Kriya or Dnyan Shakti.

        Mahur, Tuljapur and Kolhapur are independent or complete Shakti-peeths.

Function : Providing adequate and supporting strength to Kshatradharma, Brahmadharma and Rajadharma

1B. Half Shakti-peeth

        Vani (Saptashrungi) Peeth is considered as a half Shakti-peeth, meaning the remainder, since it functions on the combined strength of Iccha, Kriya and Dnyan and is a confluence of Shakti from complete Peeths.

Function : Dissolution

2. Shakti-peeths of Maharashtra

2A. Deity, symbol, function and level of function of Shakti-peeths of Maharashtra

Deity Symbol Function Level of function
1. Shri Mahalakshmi of Kolhapur Rajatej On the strength of Dnyan- shakti adorning Herself with the crown of Raja- dharma in the form of Pitrushahi (Paternal Rule), provides momentum and stability to creation of Ichha and awakening of Kriya  Dnyan- shakti (One complete peeth)
2. Shri Bhavani of Tuljapur Brahmatej Concentrating Shakti in the body by purifying all the koshas Kriya-shakti (One complete peeth)
3. Shri Renuka of Mahur Kshatratej Creating desire to perform karya (Activity) on the strength of Ichha-shakti by eliminating Raja-Tama from the body Ichha-shakti (One complete peeth)
4. Shri Saptashrungi of Vani Sanyogitej (Combined Tej) One that provides Chaitanya and controls Shakti waves of all the three Shakti-peeths and directs them in a particular direction as per the need Shakti that is a combination of Ichha, Kriya and Dnyan (Half peeth)

2B. Source of Shakti-peeths in Maharashtra


        On the strength of their balanced and unified energy, the three and a half Shakti-peeths of Maharashtra keep the spiritual state of entire Bharat under control and protect it from the attacks of negative energies. For this reason, for many centuries Bharat has been able to recover from the fierce attacks of negative energies in various forms.

        Due to the active flow of Shakti from the self-originated three and a half Shakti-peeths which is concentrated in Maharashtra, Maharashtra has benefitted from the lineage of many Saints and Sanatan Hindu Dharma still exists in Maharashtra.

        Mahalakshmipeeth represents the swirling of a ring of Dnyan-shakti around itself. Bhavanipeeth functions by emitting a beam of Kriya-shakti from its focal point, whereas Renukapeeth emits rays charged with Kshatratej.

        In Maharashtra, the seats of these three Shakti-peeths are in the sequence of Ichha, Kriya and Dnyan and crowning their head is the nirgun Shakti-peeth of Vani.

        In fact, through their structure these four seats form a crown on the map. This kind of functioning and balanced relationship between Shakti-peeths is a Divine play of Shakti.

Reference : Sanatan Sanstha’s Holy text ‘Shakti (Part 1) Introduction to Divine Energy’ and ‘Shakti (Part 2) Worship of Divine Energy