Krishna Pushkaralu


Pushkaram is an Indian festival dedicated to worshiping of rivers. It is also known as Pushkaralu (in Telugu), Pushkara or Pushkar. It is celebrated at shrines along the banks of 12 major sacred rivers in India, in form of ancestor worship, spiritual discourses, devotional music and cultural programmes. The celebration happens annually, once in 12 years along each river. Each river is associated with a zodiac sign, and the river for each year’s festival is based on which sign Jupiter is in at the time. Due to regional variations, some of the zodiac signs are associated with multiple rivers.

On the occasion of the Krishna Pushkaralu at Telangana, ‘Hindu Janajagruti Samiti’ will undertake activities of Dharmashikshan & Dharma-jagruti from 12th August to 23rd August 2016.

Donating is an important sadhana during Pushkaram parva. Donations should be to the deserving (पात्रे दानम् ।) Donations for the spread of Hindu Dharma is one such deserving cause. Hence, donate in the form of money, food grains etc. to ‘Hindu Janajagruti Samiti’ for its noble mission.

Three easy ways to donate

All donations to ‘Hindu Janajagruti Samiti’ are exempt from Income Tax under The Income Tax Act 1961 Section 80G. Also we accept donation from Indian citizens only. (As we are not registered with FCRA, we do not accept foreign donations.)

In case you choose to donate through option 2 or 3, in order to receive the receipt of the donation kindly mail us your full name and address with transaction details. Our email address for communication is : [email protected]

1. Electronic Donation


2. Direct transfer

To donate using direct transfer please email us with the subject “Donation for Krishna Pushkaralu 2015” on the email [email protected] for the suitable process.

3. By Cheque / DD

Please note that the cheque / demand draft (DD) should be drawn on the name of ‘Hindu Janajagruti Samiti.

You may send the cheques/DD to below address

Hindu Janajagruti Samiti

C/o Sanatan Ashram

24/B, Ramnathi

Bandivade, Ponda

GOA – 403 401



Each river is associated with a zodiac sign, and the river for each year’s festival is based on which zodiac sign the planet Jupiter (Bṛhaspati) is in at that time.

The Pushkaram is part of the Hindu . Therefore, the names of 12 rivers may vary depending on the regional traditions. For example, in Maharashtra, Bhima is associated with Scorpio sign, while in Tamil Nadu, Tamraparni is associated with it. The sacred rivers include:

River Rashi (Hindu zodiac sign) Corresponding Western zodiac sign
Ganges Mesha Aries
Narmada Vrishabha Taurus
Saraswati Mithuna Gemini
Yamuna Karka Cancer
Godavari Simha Leo
Krishna Kanya Virgo
Sangu Theertham tank at Vedagiriswarar temple Kanya Virgo
Kaveri Tula Libra
Bhima Vrishchika Scorpio
Tamraparni (Thamirabarani) Vrishchika Scorpio
Tapti (Pushkaravahini) Dhanus Sagittarius
Tungabhadra Makara Capricorn
Sindhu (Indus) Kumbha Aquarius
Pranhita (Parineeta) Mina Pisces

Celebration of Krushna Pushkaralu

Krishna Pushkaram is a festival of River Krishna which normally occurs once in 12 years. The Pushkaram is observed for a period of 12 days from the time of entry of Jupiter into Virgo (Kanya rasi). Pushkaram has been an age old practice in southern states Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka and Telangana. Start Date: 12 August 2016 End Date: 23 August 2016 Number of Days Celebrated: 12 Days

Ghats in Vijayawada : Durga Ghat, Pushkara Ghat, Padmavathi Ghat, Metla Bazar , ithanagaram Ghat, Punnami Ghat, Siva Kshetram

Ghats In Kurnool District : Patala Ganga (Srisailam), Sangameswaram

Ghats in Mahaboob Nagar Juraala,. Beechupally.

Ghats in Karnataka : Chikodi (Bagalkot), Raichur (Krishna Taluk)