Kashmiri separatist Yasin Malik gets life imprisonment in terror funding case

Kashmiri separatist leader Yasin Malik was on Wednesday sentenced to life imprisonment by a Delhi court in connection with a terror funding case. Malik had earlier pleaded guilty to all the charges, including those under the stringent Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA) in the case. The NIA court awarded life imprisonment based on section 121 (waging war against India) of the IPC and section 17 (raising funds for terror act) of the UAPA.

The National Investigation Agency (NIA) had sought death penalty for the separatist leader.

Malik has also been fined more than Rs 10 lakh as the court imposed different amounts for different sections he has been booked under.

Malik was earlier brought to the courtroom amid heavy security cover, and personnel from the paramilitary forces and Delhi Police were also deployed inside the courtroom.

Special judge Praveen Singh had on May 19 convicted Malik and directed the NIA authorities to assess his financial situation to determine the amount of fine likely to be imposed. Malik was facing a maximum punishment of the death penalty, while the minimum sentence for the offences committed by him is life imprisonment.

Earlier on Wednesday, Malik had said in the court that ever since he renounced violence, he has “followed the principles of Mahatma Gandhi”. Malik also said he had met seven prime ministers of India and challenged that no intelligence agency will be able to prove that he was wanted in any terror activity post-1994 when he gave up guns.

On May 10, Malik had told the court that he was not contesting the charges levelled against him that included sections 16 (terrorist act), 17 (raising funds for terrorist act), 18 (conspiracy to commit terrorist act) and 20 (being member of terrorist gang or organisation) of the UAPA and sections 120-B (criminal conspiracy) and 124-A (sedition) of the IPC.

The court had, meanwhile, formally framed charges against Kashmiri separatists, including Farooq Ahmed Dar alias Bitta Karate, Shabbir Shah, Masarat Alam, Md Yusuf Shah, Aftab Ahmad Shah, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Nayeem Khan, Md Akbar Khanday, Raja Mehrajuddin Kalwal, Bashir Ahmad Bhat, Zahoor Ahmad Shah Watali, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Abdul Rashid Sheikh and Naval Kishore Kapoor. The charge sheet was also filed against Lashkar-e-Taiba founder Hafiz Saeed and Hizbul Mujahideen chief Syed Salahuddin, who have been declared proclaimed offenders in the case.

Source : News18

Related Tags


Notice : The source URLs cited in the news/article might be only valid on the date the news/article was published. Most of them may become invalid from a day to a few months later. When a URL fails to work, you may go to the top level of the sources website and search for the news/article.

Disclaimer : The news/article published are collected from various sources and responsibility of news/article lies solely on the source itself. Hindu Janajagruti Samiti (HJS) or its website is not in anyway connected nor it is responsible for the news/article content presented here. ​Opinions expressed in this article are the authors personal opinions. Information, facts or opinions shared by the Author do not reflect the views of HJS and HJS is not responsible or liable for the same. The Author is responsible for accuracy, completeness, suitability and validity of any information in this article. ​